First Vice-Chair: Laurie Slade Funderburk

Katherine E. (Katie) Arrington William K. (Bill) Bowers Neal A. Collins MaryGail K. Douglas William M. (Bill) Hixon Jeffrey E. (Jeff) Johnson Robert L. Ridgeway, III Bill Taylor John Taliaferro (Jay) West, IV

Jennifer L. Dobson Research Director

Cathy A. Greer Administration Coordinator

Legislative Oversight Committee



South Carolina House of Representatives

Post Office Box 11867 Columbia, South Carolina 29211 Telephone: (803) 212-6810 • Fax: (803) 212-6811

Room 228 Blatt Building

Bruce W. Bannister Gary E. Clary Chandra E. Dillard Phyllis J. Henderson Joseph H. Jefferson, Jr. Mandy Powers Norrell Tommy M. Stringer Edward R. Tallon, Sr. Robert Q. Williams

Charles L. Appleby, IV Legal Counsel

Carmen J. McCutcheon Simon Research Analyst/Auditor

Kendra H. Wilkerson Fiscal/Research Analyst

June 19, 2018

Mr. Anthony Padgett, President and CEO SC Educational Television Network 1041 George Rogers Blvd. Columbia, South Carolina 29201

Dear Mr. Padgett:

On behalf of the Education and Cultural Subcommittee, thank you, and your staff for your recent presentation to the Subcommittee. In preparation for our next meeting, please respond to the following by July 30, 2018:

Endowment

• Please provide copies of the documents governing the relationship between the SCETV Endowment and SCETV.

Governance

- Please provide the SCETV Commission's governing documents.
- Have the advisory committees outlined in S.C. Code §59-7-20 been combined into one advisory council?

If these questions would yield responses that are not an accurate reflection of the agency or if additional time is needed to respond, please contact Committee staff. The Subcommittee looks forward to our next meeting to discuss SCETV's partnerships and resources.

Thank you for your service to the citizens of South Carolina and for your continued cooperation with the legislative oversight process.

Sincerely,

Joseph H. Jefferson, Jr. Subcommittee Chair

cc: The Honorable Chandra E. Dillard

The Honorable Tommy M. Stringer

The Honorable Jay West